Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Managed great sounding invisible install!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Managed great sounding invisible install!!

I've managed to install some speakers in the original dash cut-outs and a little sub behind the glove compartment and even without an external power amplifier it rocks extremely well!!

for my daily job I work as an engineer in broadcasting electronics, pro video cameras and my specialty is audio. I've been involved in development in audio equipment from since I was a kid as my father was an engineer for Amroh, Wharfdale and BNS. I've always had measurement equipment to my disposal and I have a pretty good set of ears. My specialty in speaker design is creating super small systems with super large sound. I used to calculate everything by hand back in the days, but nowadays you can get really great free software.

In cars it is a custom to not use an enclosure, so all car speakers are designed to work in a huge variety of super leaky super bad or non existent enclosures. Which is why they are never superb performers, even if you would want to put them in an enclosure, when you would calculate a proper one if you managed to get your hands on the parameters you'll see that even small drive units want huuuuuuuuuge boxes. If it gets any smaller linearity is compromised and the speaker will start to vastly exaggerate certain frequencies.

So, the real proper approach to car audio bliss is to implement a real enclosure and use hifi drive units instead. And when you are really good and experienced you will be able to see in the blink of an eye whether the parameters of a certain drive unit make it suitable for your application or not. In this case I have been shopping around for speakers that don't have any complex demands in terms of filtering and can work in super tiny enclosures. I wasn't looking for an earthquake machine, but just really proper tight and realistic music reproduction.